Make a payment
Technical tax area Ngā tūmomo whakataunga me ngā aratohu

National standard costs for specified livestock determination 2017

This determination may be cited as "The National Standard Costs for Specified Livestock Determination 2017".

This determination is made in terms of section EC 23 of the Income Tax Act 2007. It shall apply to any specified livestock on hand at the end of the 2016-2017 income year where the taxpayer has elected to value that livestock under the national standard cost scheme for that income year.

For the purposes of section EC 23 of the Income Tax Act 2007 the national standard costs for specified livestock for the 2016-2017 income year are as set out in the following table.

Kind of Livestock Category of Livestock National Standard Cost $
  Rising 1 year 32.20
  Rising 2 year 22.70
Dairy Cattle
  Purchased bobby calves 143.00
  Rising 1 year 404.10
  Rising 2 year 322.50
Beef Cattle
  Rising 1 year 343.80
  Rising 2 year 190.90
  Rising 3 year male non-breeding cattle (all breeds) 190.90
  Rising 1 year 101.20
  Rising 2 year  49.90
Goats (Meat and Fibre)
  Rising 1 year 26.60
  Rising 2 year 18.20
Goats (Dairy)
  Rising 1 year 132.30
  Rising 2 year   26.20
  Weaners to 10 weeks of age 97.50
  Growing pigs 10 to 17 weeks of age 79.50

This determination is signed by me on the 26th day of January 2017

Rob Wells
LTS Manager, Technical Standards
Legal and Technical Services